Open Call

Open Call

Getxophoto’s Open Call provides an opportunity for visual artists and photographers from all over the world to exhibit their work at the next edition of Getxophoto, to be hed in June 2024. The theme to be addressed in the 18th edition is Play.

The jury, made up of Arianna Rinaldo, Ana Casas Broda, Irene de Mendoza and María Ptqk, analysed the works submitted and selected 12 finalist projects and 3 winners. The latter will be part of the artistic programme of Getxophoto 2024:

Winners Open Call 2024

Maxim Zmeyev – Type 1.5.11. (San Petersburgo / Marsella) 

Michalina Kacperak – Soft Spot (Varsovia) 

Alejandra Carles-Tolra – Where we belong (Barcelona / Londres) 

Shortlist Open Call 2024

* In alphabetical order

Alastair Philip Wiper – Inside Adidas (Copenhaguen)

Alejandra Carles-Tolra – Where we belong (Barcelona / London)

Ali Zanjani – Just between us (Tehran)

Chloé Milos Azzopardi – Non technological Devices (Niort)

Emma Sarpaniemi – Two Ways to carry a Cauliflower (Helsinki)

Gunnar Knechtel – Fronton Walls in Spanish Villages (Kelkheim / Barcelona)

Ignacio Navas – Kickflip (Tudela)

Kehan Lai – Softly Amorphous (Shanghai / New York)

Lee-Ann Olwage – The Right to Play (Cape Town / Enoosaen)

Maxim Zmeyev – Type 1.5.11. (Saint Petersburg / Marsella)

Michalina Kacperak – Soft Spot (Warsaw)

Néstor Lisón – Sun and Sand (Murcia)

Pascual + Vincent – Fake Communion (Murcia)

Seunggu Kim – Better Days (Seoul)

Yun Ping – 回家 (huí jiā) (Madrid)  


Irene de Mendoza (César Ordóñez), María Ptqk (Ramón Quanta), Ana Casas Broda (Maya Goded), Arianna Rinaldo (Paola de Grenet)

Artistic director of Foto Colectania Foundation (Barcelona)

Irene de Mendoza holds a Degree in Humanities from the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and a Postgraduate Diploma in Aesthetics and Art Theory from the Universitat Pompeu Fabra. She has curated several exhibitions, such as Albarrán Cabrera. Lo Indestructible., Marcelo Brodsky. Resistencia poética, La Movida, crónica de una agitación (2019); Weegee by Weegee, Photobook Phenomenon (2017), The Temptation to Exist (2015) about photographers Christer Strömholm and Anders Petersen; Photobooks. Here and now (2014) as well as several exhibitions with the Foto Colectania collection, such as Manel Armengol. Transitions (2014) and Joan Colom. Album (2011). She has been working in Foto Colectania Foundation since 2005 and was appointed Artistic Director in 2010.

Independent curator, cultural researcher and curator of Getxophoto Festival (Bilbao)

She holds a PhD in artistic research, a degree in Law, Economics and a Master in Cultural Management. Her work is based on the intersections between art, technoscience and feminisms. She has worked with a number of leading institutions, among them Medialab Prado, Fundación Daniel y Nina Carasso, CCCB, Jeu de Paume, La Gaité Lyrique or GenderArtNet. Some of the exhibitions she has curated are A propósito del Chthuluceno y sus especies compañeras (Espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume), Ciencia fricción. Vida entre especies compañeras (CCCB) or Extinción Remota Detectada (LABoral). She is advisor to the Chaire Arts & Sciences (École polytechnique, l’École des Arts Décoratifs – PSL, Fondation Daniel et Nina Carasso) and a member of the ISEA Paris 2023 (International Symposium on Electronic Art) programming committee.

Co-director of the independent photography platform Hydra (CDMX)

She studied Visual Arts, History and Photography in Mexico, Spain, Austria and the United States. As an artist, since 1983 she has had numerous solo exhibitions in Mexico and abroad and has published the photobooks Álbum (Mestizo, 2000) and Kinderwunsch (La Fábrica, 2013), both of which have been exhibited in several countries. Since 1989 she has been involved in the organisation of activities related to photography, especially the creation of educational programmes at the Centro de la Imagen (CDMX), Centro de las Artes de San Agustín (Oaxaca) and FotoGuanajuato. Since 2012 Ana has been co-director of Hydra, an independent photography platform that includes an educational programme, a bookshop, a gallery and an editorial project. In 2016 she created INCUBADORA DE FOTOLIBROS, a program where authors develop their photobooks with the advice of mexican and foreign editors and designers. In 2018 she founded INFRAMUNDO, a publishing project of Hydra with José Luis Lugo and Ramón Pez that has published more than 28 photobooks that have been presented at fairs and competitions around the world.

Independent curator, photography consultant, freelance photo editor (Milan)

Her relationship with photography started in New York as Archive director at Magnum Photos (1998–2001), work which she continued in Italy until 2004. She was photo editor of Colors magazine (2001–2004), as well as director for 9 years of the documentary photography magazine OjodePez (La Fábrica). She has been photography consultant for D, the weekly magazine of La Repubblica (2008–2011), artistic director of the Cortona On The Move festival in Tuscany (2012–2021) and since 2016 she is photography curator at PhEST, contemporary art festival (Monopoli). Arianna continues to develop photographic projects internationally, as well as giving lectures, workshops and mentorship sessions. She is also a regular guest as a speaker, portfolio reviewer and jury at renowned photographic events around the world. She is on the selection committee of the British Journal of Photography Ones to Watch, the Leica Oskar Barnack Award and the Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize.

Winners Open Call 2023

M’hammed KilitoBefore it’s gone (Morocco)

Arturo Soto Today, Something (Mexico)

Julieta TarraubellaBunker (Argentina)

Open Call winners 2022

Igor Furtado and Ventura Profana Come Before Winter (Brazil)

Marisol Mendez Madre (Bolivia)

Gloria Oyarzabal Usus Fructus Abusus (La blanche et la noire) (Spain)

Cemre Yesil Gönenli Hayal & Hakikat (Turkey)

Open Call winners 2021

Zahara Gómez Lucini & Las Rastreadoras del Fuerte – Recetario para la memoria (Mexico)

River Claure – Warawar wawa (Bolivia)

Shelli Weiler – Enjoy House (USA)

Etinosa Yvonne It’s all in my Head (Nigeria)